Jerry White Weathered Union Pacific 4-12-2

Discuss All Facets of 2-Rail, 1/48 Scale, Model Railroading
86TA355SR

Jerry White Weathered Union Pacific 4-12-2

Postby 86TA355SR » Wed Dec 15, 2021 10:17 pm

Here’s a Jerry White custom locomotive I weathered.

My intent was to practice new weathering techniques. Armed with some YouTube “knowledge” (I’ll call it that!) and after studying different weathering articles, I started painting.

Finished model is a combination of washes, cheap oil paint (artist tube paint) & air brush shading.

I prefer light weathering but this model needed to be “worn” to reflect an end of life cycle locomotive. Therefore, heavily weathered was appropriate.

I replaced the worn driver & tender truck springs, cleaned/lubed everything, added data/“UP” decals to cab, and eventually window glaze.

A big thank you to Butch for all the great information he shared with me, especially for this model. I appreciate it.
Last edited by 86TA355SR on Thu Apr 21, 2022 8:29 am, edited 2 times in total.

up148

Re: Jerry White Weathered Union Pacific 4-12-2

Postby up148 » Thu Dec 16, 2021 9:16 am

Nice job Aaron! Your weathering skills are improving with every loco. This JW 9000 is a really nice looking loco, especially considering when it was most likely built. With the 3rd cylinder linkage it had to be a complicated build. Any photos of the underside showing the drive?

86TA355SR

Postby 86TA355SR » Thu Dec 16, 2021 11:35 am

Sure, here’s the underside, also shows the third linkage. Very small screws hold it together and it does operate/move. I was a little nervous about taking it apart to remove the drivers but it was non-eventful, thankfully. Didn’t have any extra hardware if something got lost, so to say I was careful is an understatement.

The Gresley valve gear operates perfectly.

Topside with boiler off:

A few other details:
It weighs 19 pounds on drivers! I removed the boiler weights for easier handling.