LWS/ Penn-Erie U50 in pewter

Discuss All Facets of 2-Rail, 1/48 Scale, Model Railroading
bob turner

LWS/ Penn-Erie U50 in pewter

Postby bob turner » Tue May 25, 2021 1:44 pm

First, should we lobby for a one-click log-in? I have to log in every other day.

Maroon gave me a LocoWorks U50 - a very very long model! I think it is Britannia metal, a high quality form of pewter. It forms easily, which may mean it needs reinforcement over its length to avoid sagging.

I have it straightened over a wood form - photo soon - and basically ready to join. I have zero experience with pewter.

There are special solders and flux for pewter. "they" say to genly heat with a torch, and get out of there when the solder flows to avoid a sudden catastrophic melt down. Awk!

The other (safer) choice is J B Weld. I am not above choosing the safer option.

But open to advice. What do you think?
Last edited by bob turner on Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Rufus T. Firefly

Re: Soldering pewter?

Postby Rufus T. Firefly » Tue May 25, 2021 3:03 pm

Lacking any experience with both the low temp solders and techniques, I personally would opt for the safe option, but there are those here (I think...) with experience with both the low temp solders and techniques that might be willing to give you better advise.
Conservatism: The intense fear that somewhere, somehow, someone you think is inferior is being treated as your equal.

robert.

Postby robert. » Tue May 25, 2021 5:48 pm

I vote for JB weld. Pewter melts around 250 degrees.
I spend entirely too many hours a day tying my shoes

J. S. Bach

Postby J. S. Bach » Tue May 25, 2021 6:18 pm

bob turner wrote:First, should we lobby for a one-click log-in? I have to log in every other day. ...snip...

I have stayed logged-in for several months.

Rufus T. Firefly

Postby Rufus T. Firefly » Tue May 25, 2021 6:20 pm

Maybe find someone that does stained glass windows and ask how they solder all the bits together?